August/September/October 2006

Feature Articles:

Supreme Governor Nomination Goes North of the Border

Scott is fraternity’s 3rd Canadian to become its chief presiding officer

Supreme Governor William R. Scott and his wife Dubravka.

> Supporters showed their enthusiasm for William R. Scott of Sault Ste. Marie, ON Lodge 535 as his name was placed in nomination for the office of Supreme Governor.

A large mass of supporters from the Ontario, Quebec, Alberta and British Columbia Moose Associations whooped and hollered for Scott--only the third Canadian Supreme Governor in the Moose fraternity’s 118-year history.

118th International

Please click on any photograph below to view a larger image.

Many demonstrating on behalf of Scott (above) proudly waved the Canadian flag.

Gallagher Rises to Supreme Prelate, Albert to Council

Left, Supreme Councilman George W. McCullough III of North Caroliona and newly-nominated Supreme Jr. Governor Eugene Hugggins of Illinois applaud James J. Gallagher (center) of California as he is nominated Supreme Prelate.

Far right, William “Buck” Dials congratulates his fellow Moose Buckeye, the beaming Danny R. Albert of Mansfield, OH Lodge 341 as he was nominated to the vacant spot on the Supreme Council. Albert had served on the Mooseheart Board from 2000-04, and prior to that had served for 11 years as a member of the International Sports Committee.

Supreme Lodge Officers, Boards, Committees and Moose Legion 2006-2007

Supreme Lodge Officers: *Director General William B. Airey; Chief Operating Officer Leonard J. Solfa Jr; *Supreme Governor William R. Scott; *Jr. Past Supreme Governor Ronald L. Sweetman; *Supreme Jr. Governor Eugene C. Huggins; *Supreme Prelate James J. Gallagher; Supreme Council: Danny R. Albert* *Wesley I. Crowder; *James J. Gallagher; *James F. Henderson Sr., *Joseph R. Koons; *George W. McCullough, *Christopher C. Perry, *Liguori Saladin, and *Terry L. Walls; Supreme Sgt.-at-Arms Gerald L. Ryan; Supreme Inner Guard Daniel R. Williams; Supreme Outer Guard Ralph Hart (*Indicates voting member of the Supreme Council).

Supreme Forum: Wallace F. McLamb, Chief Justice, Hampton, VA; James Chappell, PSG, Eatonton, GA; Robert J. Spingler, Hendersonville, TN; Kim Paradiso, Dubuque, IA; Jeanenne Lautzenheiser, Newnan, GA; Lawrence F. Pitts, Anchorage, AK; Michael G. Peters, Scotia, NY

Mooseheart Board: Don P. Cotnam, Chairman, Roseburg, OR; Director General William B. Airey; Supreme Governor William R. Scott; Sandra Richards, Meridian, MS; Warren Cummings, Fairbanks, AK; Earl Vosburgh, Woodstock, IL; Donald Sullivan, Bass River, MA; Franz R. Griswold, Dansville, NY; Mark Penzkover, Mukwonago, WI.

Moosehaven Board: Director General William B. Airey; Supreme Governor William R. Scott; John C. Horstman, Baltimore, MD; Gary C. Nisewarner, Shepherdstown, WV; Harley D. Swenson, Spanaway, WA; Michael Coen, Cut Bank, MT; Patricia A. Mancuso, Atlantic City, NJ; Constance Nyland, Edgewater, FL.

Moose Charities Board: Ray Kesling, Chairman, Scott Depot, WV; Director General William B. Airey; Supreme Governor William R. Scott; John Sipes, Galion, OH; Warren Black, Grants Pass, OR; Robert E. Elston, South Bend, IN; Dennis Johnson, Medicine Hat, AB; Sandra L. Thompson, Colorado Springs, CO; Tonie Ewoldt, North Aurora, IL.

Pilgrim Council: Thomas C. Hatcher, Pilgrim Governor, Glastonbury, CT; Phillip R. Morse, Mooresville, NC; Robert B. Elliott, St. Charles, IL; Guy E. Moneypenny, Suffolk, VA; Norman R. Schneider, Riverhead, NY; H. Ray Lewis, Brittons Neck, SC; Don R. Eisel, Columbus, OH.

Community Service Committee: James E. Colby, Chairman, Ann Arbor, MI; James W. Pizarek, Michigan City, IN; Mary Ellen Williams, Durham, NC; Robert Manning, Aberdeen, MD.

Moose Legion Council: President Arthur G. Shaw, Phenix City, AL; Vice President Robert P. Maxey, Richmond, VA; Past President Robert A. Neff, Lockport, IL; Director Shawn Baile; Levis Hughes, Tallahassee, FL; Michael D. Roach, Grand Prairie, TX; Paul Curtis, Washougal, WA; Bruce J. Berger, Quakertown, PA.; Mark Klein, Westlake Village, CA.

Judiciary Committee: Phillip R. Morse, Chairman, Mooresville, NC; John T. Martin, Shelbyville, IN; Harry L. Johnston, Greeley, CO; Daniel T. Corcoran, Manassas, VA.; James A. Phillips, Albemarle, NC

Government Relations Committee: George A. Nelson, Chairman, Ames, IA; Morris W. Richards, Scottsdale, AZ; Charles R. Norris, Shreveport, LA; William B. Pierson, Topeka, KS; Virginia Starkey, Lancaster, OH; Charles R. Norris, Flowood, MS.

Sports Committee: Elliott Chaffee, Chairman, Hornell, NY; William Dials, Ashland, OH; Beth Griswold, Dansville, NY; Andrew D. Dooley, Bedford, VA; William T. O’Brien, Murfreesboro, TN; Leanna Miller, Elkhart, IN; Nellie Manning, Aberdeen, MD; Jean Polhamus, Longmont, CO.

Family Activities Committee: Earl C. Hebert, Chairman, Troy, NY; Ed ‘Porkey’ Strong, Lynn, MA, Michael D. Mock, Rock Hill, SC; James Parker, Hudson, FL; Daniel E. Gooch, Woodbury, NJ.

Publications Committee: James W. Grandy, Chairman, Mt. Vernon, OH; James A. Hobbs, Princeton, IL; Nicholas J. Tutorow, Fort Worth, TX; John W. ‘Jack’ Wilson, Farmington, MI; Walter Zurowski, Warner Robins, GA.

Ritual Committee: Robert K. Stillwell, Chairman, Lakeland, FL; Earl B. Shelton, Greensboro, NC; Henry F. Wimmer, Aurora, IL; James R. Malsbury, Arcadia, FL; Tom Gowdey, Sarnia, ON; Lonnie Mudgett, Hemlock, MI; David S. Rackley, Easley, SC; James W. Shelton, Peru, IN; Vaughn Downing, Cheyenne, WY.

A Morning of Ceremony, Transition, and Farewell

Left to right: New Supreme Councilman Danny Albert, Ohio; New Supreme Jr. Governor Eugene Huggins, Illinois; New Supreme Prelate
James Gallagher, California; Supreme Councilman Chris Perry, Arkansas/Tennessee.

> The last morning of an International Convention somehow always seems more relaxed. There is still business to attend to-- including announcement of results of Ritual Competition (or go to and installation of both Supreme Lodge and Women of the Moose international officers, boards and committees for the new fiscal year. But with bags packed and most duties already done, a happy feeling of accomplishment fills the room.

Grand Regent Sandra Richards of Mississippi is sworn in by Grand Chancellor Janet Fregulia (right) with Past Grand Regent Patricia Mancuso looking on.

And in this year marking the centennial of Welsh-born James J. Davis joining the Moose and beginning its re-birth, an old poem recited by his fellow Welshman Bryan White were fitting to capture the essence of Moose fraternalism:

No man is an island
No man stands alone
Each man’s joy is joy to me
Each man’s grief, my own
We all need one another
So I will defend
Each man as my brother
Each man as my friend.

Retired British Moose CEO Bryan White brings greetings from the Grand Lodge.

Outgoing Grand Regent Joan Collins and her husband, Past Supreme Governor Andy Collins, of California.

Newly installed Supreme Governor Bill Scott of Ontario steals a smooch at the lectern from his proud wife, Duke.

[Back to top]